Friday 29 November 2013


The Kharites or Charites or Grace in Greek mythology is described as one of a group of goddess who personified charm and beauty.  The Grace were usually considered the daughters of Zeus and Eurynome, however in other versions daughters of Zeus by Hera or Harmonia or Lethe or Eunomia or Eurydomene. Also in some versions they were daughters of Helios and Aegle, or of Apollo by  Aegle or Evanthe, or of Dionysus by Aphrodite or Coronis. 
The number of Grace varied in different legends, but usually they were three:
 Aglaia (brightness), 
Euphrosyne (joyfulness), and 
Thalia (bloom).
Other Grace sometimes mentioned were: 
 Kharis, and
               The Grace were attendants of the goddess Aphrodite and Hera. 


No comments:

Post a Comment